ADRIFT Forum


The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Fitting Images

This forum is the place to learn about and discuss ADRIFT 5. Feel free to mention any bugs you find here, but please also add these to the Bugs & Enhancements list.

Please also refer to the ADRIFT 5 Wiki for more information.

Fitting Images

Postby Bad-People » Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:58 am

What are the best dimensions for images to be to fit neatly into the game graphics? Most of the ones I've tried are either way to big or don't fit the default graphic box very well. I can adjust the dimensions myself but it would help if I knew what the default dimensions for the graphics box was.
Bad-People
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:18 am

Re: Fitting Images

Postby P/o Prune » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:24 am

I think that depends how you want your graphics displayed.
I prefer it this way. In a separate window above the text but others prefer it "in line" with the text. If you use any of these ways I don't think there's a way you can set the dimensions yourself but have to use the three options given.

D-Day.jpg
D-Day.jpg (150.8 KiB) Viewed 1596 times


There are other ways to do it, though. I believe Lazzah uses <img> commands for his graphics but I'll leave it to him to explain how to do that.
D-Day V.5 in progress 86Kb (On backburner)
Anno 1700 First beta test in progress.
User avatar
P/o Prune
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 8:18 am
Location: Denmark
Points: 23

Re: Fitting Images

Postby ElliotM » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:40 am

Others with more experience in adding graphics can chime in, but you can learn more about <img> and other html formatting tags (limited subset) here: http://wiki.adrift.co/Text_Boxes#HTML_markup_tags
ElliotM
 
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:04 pm
Location: The Midwest in the USA
Points: 13

Re: Fitting Images

Postby Bad-People » Fri Apr 15, 2016 7:46 am

When I run the adventure there is a big box with the text in it. Then to the right of that there is a thinner box with the graphic in it. I can change the size of the images, I have a paint program to do that with. I just wanted to know if there was some way to know what the dimensions of that thinner graphics box to the right were.
Bad-People
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:18 am

Re: Fitting Images

Postby ElliotM » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:04 am

That is the thing though, that box can be resized and may have different dimensions for people running different monitor sizes and resolutions. Also, graphics can be displayed a few different ways, such as actual size, cropped to window, fit to window, or proportionally fit to window. I may have gotten the names wrong, but there are several.
ElliotM
 
Posts: 1227
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:04 pm
Location: The Midwest in the USA
Points: 13

Re: Fitting Images

Postby P/o Prune » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:19 am

ElliotM wrote:Also, graphics can be displayed a few different ways, such as actual size, cropped to window, fit to window, or proportionally fit to window. I may have gotten the names wrong, but there are several.


You (only) have 3 options:
Actual size <centered>
Fit window <keep aspect>
Stretch to window

If you want to move your graphic from the side of the screen to, say the top, you click on the graphics bar right above the picture. You can then move the graphic window to what ever position you like. Same goes for the map window.
D-Day V.5 in progress 86Kb (On backburner)
Anno 1700 First beta test in progress.
User avatar
P/o Prune
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 8:18 am
Location: Denmark
Points: 23

Re: Fitting Images

Postby Bad-People » Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:41 am

Is there a way to set say "fit Window" to default? My resource images are of radically different sizes.
Bad-People
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:18 am

Re: Fitting Images

Postby BBBen » Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:10 am

Bad-People wrote:Is there a way to set say "fit Window" to default? My resource images are of radically different sizes.

Not yet, this is a bug that is supposed to be sorted out but will have to wait until it is fixed. This is the issue, but it didn't actually get properly fixed in the last release: http://www.adrift.co/bug/19029

Incidentally, I would probably not recommend having 'fit to window' be your default. Generally I think it's best to make all your images the same, consistent size and then ideally set it to 'actual size' as the default. Fitting it to the window and keeping the aspect is okay, it is good for players with low-res displays, but reduces the display quality and can give some odd results.
BBBen
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:46 am
Points: 10


Return to ADRIFT 5.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 3 guests