ADRIFT Forum


The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Take from location (only partly works)

This forum is the place to learn about and discuss ADRIFT 5. Feel free to mention any bugs you find here, but please also add these to the Bugs & Enhancements list.

Please also refer to the ADRIFT 5 Wiki for more information.

Take from location (only partly works)

Postby highways » Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:40 pm

I am not sure where the problem with this topic lies.

I have a location where there is a dynamic object (pen). On first entering the loc the default description shows the pen being there.
When I have another 'look' at the location the alternative description does not show the pen as being there (although it is because you can take it)
The pen is shown in the contents.

When I go to take the pen the system says that "I have picked up the pen". However, if I try to 'drop' the pen; the system says "I am not holding the pen".!!
In addition the pen is not shown in the inventory.

This task has been carried out in other locations with other objects and the results are the same; except that the object is shown as being there, even after
the 'take task' has been carried out.

I have other objects which are either on or inside an object... these actions work correctly when I take the object from object.

I have deleted and re-input Adrift onto the computer; and as far as I can see - The Take Object tasks in the Library have the same actions and priorities as the original.

My hair is getting thinner by the minute - your help please.
Nemo Mortalium Omnibus Horis Sapit. (No man is at all times wise)
User avatar
highways
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Staffordshire
Points: 10

Re: Take from location (only partly works)

Postby ElliotM » Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:39 pm

Could you make a demo illustrating the problem and attach it to a post in this thread?
ElliotM
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:04 pm
Location: The Midwest in the USA
Points: 10

Re: Take from location (only partly works)

Postby highways » Mon Sep 05, 2016 7:37 am

ElliotM wrote:Could you make a demo illustrating the problem and attach it to a post in this thread?


Thanks ElliotM for your interest.
I made some 'stupid' mistakes.... problem now fixed.

Thank you
Nemo Mortalium Omnibus Horis Sapit. (No man is at all times wise)
User avatar
highways
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Staffordshire
Points: 10

Re: Take from location (only partly works)

Postby ElliotM » Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:32 pm

No problem, glad you worked it out.
ElliotM
 
Posts: 1186
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:04 pm
Location: The Midwest in the USA
Points: 10


Return to ADRIFT 5.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests