ADRIFT Forum

The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Need Help with Escape The Room type game

This forum is the place to learn about and discuss ADRIFT 5. Feel free to mention any bugs you find here, but please also add these to the Bugs & Enhancements list.

Please also refer to the ADRIFT 5 Wiki for more information.

Need Help with Escape The Room type game

Postby Smithnikov » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:46 am

Hey there. I'm quite new to the use of this utility, completed the tutorial, and I've been tasked with making a sort of Room Escape game using ADRIFT. While I've got as far as describing the objects and location, I'm quite at a loss on how to simulate the situation of the player character being restrained/tied and kept from various tasks. For example: the character starts tied to a chair, and cannot even stand up until the chair is tipped or rocked over and broken. What task or event combinations would simulate this, as well as other restricted behaviors (not reaching an object until handcuffs or bindings are rmeoved, ect.) Thanks in advance for suffering this noob question!
Smithnikov

Re: Need Help with Escape The Room type game

Postby Lazzah » Fri Jan 06, 2017 7:07 pm

Smithnikov wrote:Hey there. I'm quite new to the use of this utility, completed the tutorial, and I've been tasked with making a sort of Room Escape game using ADRIFT. While I've got as far as describing the objects and location, I'm quite at a loss on how to simulate the situation of the player character being restrained/tied and kept from various tasks. For example: the character starts tied to a chair, and cannot even stand up until the chair is tipped or rocked over and broken. What task or event combinations would simulate this, as well as other restricted behaviors (not reaching an object until handcuffs or bindings are rmeoved, ect.) Thanks in advance for suffering this noob question!

Hi Smithnikov,