ADRIFT Forum


The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

This forum is the place to learn about and discuss ADRIFT 5. Feel free to mention any bugs you find here, but please also add these to the Bugs & Enhancements list.

Please also refer to the ADRIFT 5 Wiki for more information.

Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby Palmer » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:14 am

I can open my .taf in both 0.34 and 0.35 by inputting my password. But I can't unprotect it by inputting the same password. Instead it yields in a "Incorrect password. Adventure is still protected."

Any way around this? I tried unlocking the .taf in both versions, which doesn't work.
Palmer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:35 am
Points: 10

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby ralphmerridew » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:31 am

Try adding some spaces after the password, to make the password at least 8 characters.
Bloodhounds can make you laugh and cuss in the same breath. They are endearing, faithful, and can sling drool ten feet in any direction. -- Virginia Lanier
User avatar
ralphmerridew
 
Posts: 2533
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 11:56 pm
Location: Missouri
Points: 10

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby Palmer » Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:39 pm

The password is 12 characters long and adding spaces doesn't work
Palmer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:35 am
Points: 10

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby ralphmerridew » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:37 pm

Try entering only the first 8 characters, then.
Bloodhounds can make you laugh and cuss in the same breath. They are endearing, faithful, and can sling drool ten feet in any direction. -- Virginia Lanier
User avatar
ralphmerridew
 
Posts: 2533
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 11:56 pm
Location: Missouri
Points: 10

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby Lazzah » Wed Apr 19, 2017 5:34 am

Why did you want to "protect" your adventure in the first place? I don't see the point of doing this.
OUT NOW: Run, Bronwynn, Run!
Current W.I.P.: Magnetic Moon
Also available: The Axe of Kolt, The Spectre of Castle Coris, The Fortress of Fear, Die Feuerfaust - The Fist of Fire and The Lost Children
User avatar
Lazzah
Moderator
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:54 am
Location: London, England
Points: 17

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby David Whyld » Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:04 am

Isn't it to stop people cheating?
##################################

In progress: Shadows of the Mind 87k and counting. ETA: sometime in 2018.
David Whyld
 
Posts: 6725
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:15 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Points: 25

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby rotter » Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:21 am

David Whyld wrote:Isn't it to stop people cheating?


David is right in V4 it was the best way of stopping someone just opening your game in the Generator and having a good look around. I believe it is still possible to import a blorb file in V5.
Currently working on "The Blank Wall" in ADRIFT 5 and "Again and Again" in Inform 7.
Delron, the home of Otter Interactive Fiction.
User avatar
rotter
 
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:12 am
Location: UK
Points: 10

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby P/o Prune » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:29 am

David Whyld wrote:Isn't it to stop people cheating?

Is it really our job to prevent people from cheating? If they want to take the easy way and ruin the pleasure of playing the game, that's their own problem.
Personally I have learned a lot from being able to study the taf file in various adventures, especially how to create a task or an event, to mention a couple.
D-Day V.5 in progress 86Kb (On backburner)
Anno 1700 First beta test in progress.
User avatar
P/o Prune
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 8:18 am
Location: Denmark
Points: 23

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby David Whyld » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:41 am

Campbell clearly thought there was a need for it or he wouldn't have added the option.
##################################

In progress: Shadows of the Mind 87k and counting. ETA: sometime in 2018.
David Whyld
 
Posts: 6725
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:15 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Points: 25

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby P/o Prune » Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:47 am

David Whyld wrote:Campbell clearly thought there was a need for it or he wouldn't have added the option.

Either that, or he was bored and had nothing better to do :wink:
D-Day V.5 in progress 86Kb (On backburner)
Anno 1700 First beta test in progress.
User avatar
P/o Prune
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 8:18 am
Location: Denmark
Points: 23

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby David Whyld » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:45 am

It's certainly handy to be able to open up the taf file and look at how things work, but it can also allow people to cheat. Stuck on a puzzle and can't be bothered to figure it out the proper way? No problem. Open up the Generator, find the task you want and see the solution right there!

I can see it from both points of view, though, as I've played plenty of games in the past, got stuck with them and been unable to get any further, and found the game was password protected so I wasn't able to make any progress. But if the author wants to password protect his games, I don't see any real problem with them doing it.
##################################

In progress: Shadows of the Mind 87k and counting. ETA: sometime in 2018.
David Whyld
 
Posts: 6725
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:15 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Points: 25

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby Lazzah » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:28 am

David Whyld wrote:Campbell clearly thought there was a need for it or he wouldn't have added the option.

The problem is that there doesn't seem to be a way to unprotect the games once you have chosen to protect them! :shock:
OUT NOW: Run, Bronwynn, Run!
Current W.I.P.: Magnetic Moon
Also available: The Axe of Kolt, The Spectre of Castle Coris, The Fortress of Fear, Die Feuerfaust - The Fist of Fire and The Lost Children
User avatar
Lazzah
Moderator
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:54 am
Location: London, England
Points: 17

Re: Can't "Unprotect Adventure"

Postby Campbell » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:30 pm

I can take a look if you send me the file. You should just need to put the same password in to remove it (and then you'll need to save it with the password removed). Worked for me in testing, but perhaps there was some corruption.
ADRIFT Developer developer.
User avatar
Campbell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4618
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 11:05 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland


Return to ADRIFT 5.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest