Page 1 of 1

Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:41 pm
by David Whyld
This might be me doing something wrong, but quite often when I double click a folder in the folders list, it opens up an existing folder not in a clear space on the screen but over the top of another folder. Other times it causes the existing folders to scroll upwards and put the new one down below. It’s really annoying and I can’t find an option to stop it doing this. Sometimes when I've had 7 or 8 folders open at a time, they're covering 4 screens or more, which makes it impossible to see what's in most of them.

Ideally I’d like it if v5 would display folders side by side, so I can read what's in each of them without being forced to drag them around the screen all the time.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:48 pm
by Denk
I doubt there is any way to control where the window opens, but once it is open, all you have to do is click on "Tile Vertically" and they will be placed side by side.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:08 pm
by David Whyld
I know about the "tile vertically" option but I was hoping there was some setting I could change to automatically line up the folders. I'm sure Campbell had his reasons for setting things up like this but I can't for the life of me figure out how putting folders on top of other folders, thus hiding what's in the folder beneath, is a good idea, especially when there's plenty of empty space on the screen where the folder could be placed. Ah well, it's not a big deal. I'm sure I can work around it.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:19 pm
by ralphmerridew
My guess is that Campbell simply used the default behavior and prioritized other elements over positioning windows.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 12:26 am
by DazaKiwi
Try using 'Tile' that is what i use now all the time, it places them all side by side with the window sizing based on how many folders are open and screen space. And just close folders you wont be needing for the current session to declutter.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:00 pm
by Lazzah
I am surprised that everyone has their windows so wide, if you re-size them narrower you can get much more in the ADRIFT window, as per the image of one of my game files attached. I leave part of the screen clear so I can open a transcript text file if I am amending a game that has been playtested, etc.

WIP.jpg
WIP.jpg (669.65 KiB) Viewed 630 times

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:20 pm
by David Whyld
I've been trying to keep the screen as clear as possible because otherwise I'm getting folders on top of other folders and it's confusing keeping track of everything. As I said, though, it's not that big a deal. I've found the keyboard shortcut that puts everything into order without more clicking (boy, v5 loves mouse clicks, doesn't it?) so I guess I'll just have to get used to doing that.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:50 pm
by rotter
David Whyld wrote:boy, v5 loves mouse clicks, doesn't it?


I have to admit, although I love lots of the V5 features, it is certainly a lot more clickly than V4.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 10:17 pm
by The0didactus
rotter wrote:
David Whyld wrote:boy, v5 loves mouse clicks, doesn't it?


I have to admit, although I love lots of the V5 features, it is certainly a lot more clickly than V4.


It took me eons to learn that you can copy and paste restrictions and actions. that's 50,000,000 clicks I'll never get back.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2019 10:11 am
by Campbell
It just opens the windows at the last place you had them. If you've never opened them before it uses Windows defaults, which I think uses the cascade positioning from the last window opened.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:26 am
by David Whyld
Is there any chance it could just put them in a blank space instead of covering up another window? I seem to spend a lot of time dragging stuff around so I can see everything that's on screen.

Re: Windows all over the place

PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2019 10:27 am
by Campbell
I guess anything is possible. Stick an item up on the Bugs/Enhancements page and I'll try to fit that in.