ADRIFT Forum

The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Introducing ourselves - Share a little about yourself

Want to just chat amongst yourselves? Then this is the place when IF and ADRIFT are not the topic. Please keep your posts family friendly.

Postby Greybear » Sun Jul 18, 2004 5:54 pm

I think this topic is a little bold and presumptuous for a newbie to start, but I guess doing so lets you know a little about me.

I am a 58-year-old professor, child psychologist, storyteller, and community educator at Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kansas (so “Greybear” is fitting).

I have two reasons for being drawn to ADRIFT (possibly even being adrift). My book Raising Courageous Kids: Eight Steps to Practical Heroism was just published by Sorin Books at Notre Dame. I created a website at http://www.raisingcourageouskids.com to support the book. Because I am a huge advocate of the power of storytelling to convey important ideas about courage and the meaning of true heroism to children, a section on the website focuses on stories.

I am hoping to start a series of short IF suitable for readers from 9 to 90 called “The Adventures of Phoebe McNee. I would also like to encourage older children to use ADRIFT in creating their own stories.

Second, as a storyteller, I’m always looking for new tools and similar-minded folks on the web. I enjoy putting together stories and have found the information here helpful in learning ADRIFT and benefiting from the kind work of others.

I have (had by now) considerable proficiency with SUDS, a great Windows program by Andy Eliott that is now sadly abandoneware. What I loved most about SUDS was a sophisticated conversation tree for any character met in the story and its ease of use (until the story became complex). I created a story arc called “Forces of Nature” and completed the first story titled “Snow Night.” You can read about it at:

http://www.ksu.edu/wwparent/story/index.htm