ADRIFT Forum


The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Execute Task

Want to just chat amongst yourselves? Then this is the place when IF and ADRIFT are not the topic. Please keep your posts family friendly.

Postby Splink07 » Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:27 am

Is it possible to execute a TASK without having to type anything in or by using an EVENT? So the TASK would execute when the RESTRICTIONS are met.
Splink07
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 3:06 am

Postby davidw » Thu Jul 01, 2004 9:12 am

Yes, although it depends on how you want it to be triggered. If you want it to happen when a variable reaches a certain amount:

Create a variable called "gunfire" and start it at 0.

Set up a task and call it, for example, "- gunfire". Make it repeatable. As a restriction, have it that the gunfire variable must be equal to 10.

As an action, increase the gunfire variable by 1.

Create an event called “check for gunfire” and make it happen between 1 and 1 turns. Make it repeatable. Have it execute the “- gunfire” task on completion.

This way the “- gunfire” task will execute when the gunfire variable hits 10 and this will happen whether the player does anything or not.
User avatar
davidw
 
Posts: 5119
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:27 pm
Location: Hereabouts

Postby Mystery » Thu Jul 01, 2004 3:46 pm

A more general answer- Simply title your task using the # symbol.

#Pigs Fly

Add what restrictions suit you. The task will then need to be triggered by either an event or executed by another task.
~Myst~
User avatar
Mystery
Moderator
 
Posts: 4765
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 4:32 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia USA
Points: 10

Postby Splink07 » Fri Jul 02, 2004 1:15 am

I asked if it can be triggered WITHOUT the PLAYER typing something and WITHOUT an EVENT. Sounds like an EVENT has to be going though to trigger a TASK that is not typed in...
Splink07
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 3:06 am

Postby Mystery » Fri Jul 02, 2004 3:55 am

You can use a TASK to trigger ANOTHER TASK without player input.

Task- Actions Tab>Add>Execute/Unset Task>(Select Execute or Unset>Select task from list.

A task isn't going to magically execute unless you direct it to do so, via event or TASK. You have to specify what will trigger the task. If you need more clarification, please give a little more information about what it is you are trying to do.
~Myst~
User avatar
Mystery
Moderator
 
Posts: 4765
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 4:32 pm
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia USA
Points: 10

Postby davidw » Fri Jul 02, 2004 7:28 am

Splink07 wrote:Sounds like an EVENT has to be going though to trigger a TASK that is not typed in...

It does. How else would you trigger a task?
User avatar
davidw
 
Posts: 5119
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:27 pm
Location: Hereabouts

Postby Cannibal » Fri Jul 02, 2004 9:07 am

Telepathy?

:)

Cannibal
Games:
The Plague (Redux), The Woods Are Dark, The Night That Dripped Blood
User avatar
Cannibal
 
Posts: 1752
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 8:10 pm
Location: England
Points: 10

Postby KFAdrift » Fri Jul 02, 2004 4:03 pm

You could use * for what to type. If no task has previously claimed the input your task would execute. This works well when you just want to increment a variable or move something. Not advised for tasks with output as they would stop correctly matching tasks and commands.

I have added a system to the O.A.R.S hints and tips area that has an event running a task every turn. You can then have that task execute other tasks, and they will run if their restrictions are met. As it can execute a number of tasks it is a useful system, rather than having several events executing different tasks.
KF
Staring harder at the screen doesn't give any more inspiration
User avatar
KFAdrift
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4882
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 4:42 pm
Location: Surrey, southern England


Return to Drifting Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron