ADRIFT Forum

The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Just a fairy tale

Here you can share your "work in progress" with your fellow Drifters.

Just a fairy tale

Postby P/o Prune » Wed May 08, 2019 10:55 am

Obviously I'm not an expert in this forum thingy. :?
While moving the posts regarding the fairness of evaluation of large / complex games, I did manage to move the posts :D However, I also managed to erase my WIP report :x
So here we go again:

My project for this year’s Annual IF Comp is called “Just a fairy tale”

You take the role of a boy (sorry ladies :blush: ) whom, after having been tugged in, wakes up when he is visited by the ghostly image of a wizard.
The wizard tells the boy that he has been taken prisoner by the evil (no definition yet) and need the boy’s help to escape and save the kingdom. Why he absolutely need the boys help I have no idea, but it fitted nicely into the story at the time.
When the wizard is done keeping this poor boy awake he disappears and the kid can finally go to sleep.
He (the kid) wakes up the next morning. Not in his own bed, but in a completely different and strange room.
From there his quest to rescue the wizard begins.

When I started this game there was no template to work from. I am pretty much inventing the story as I go along.
I have implemented some things that David W suggested to make the game look more appealing, and it’s going to be interesting to see how this is received.
I’m seriously trying to limit myself not allowing this game to grow too big. My problem is that when I begin working on a game it is like opening Pandora’s’ box. Tons of ideas pops into my head (from time to time) and they are all just too good to miss and before I know it I am struggling with a 20+ Mb game (Exaggerating, but you know what I mean)
Did I mention that it’s a fairy tale?
Well, it has a witch, a wizard, gnomes and lots of magic. If that’s not the ingredients of a fairy tale I don’t know what is.