ADRIFT Forum

The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Climb Tree

Here you can share your "work in progress" with your fellow Drifters.

Climb Tree

Postby rovarsson » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:00 pm

Hi all!

As some of you may have read elsewhere, I'm a newbie trying to get his first game off the ground.
I'm using all the tutorials I can find, the newbie section on this forum has provided me with great tips, Larry Horsfield is exceptionally helpful. I try new stuff I learned in a "Playground" I've created (and which keeps growing into a weirder and weirder place. Unlocking doors with a rotten fish is fun!) This all helps in keeping the learning curve manageable.
I've been walking around with an idea for a children's book for years now. An adventure in a fantasy setting (no magic though. I dislike most magic in books or games.) I made maps, thought out scenes and conversations, wrote down ideas for characters, but it never seemed to take off.
And then I found ADRIFT! Hallelujah. This medium is perfect for tying my loose narrative ideas together. And obstacles planned for the book get reworked as puzzles.
The working title is "The Tree". (Original, no?) My protagonist must bring medicinal herbs to her nephew. He is one of the Treepeople (again, working name, will change that) who have made an entire village in a huge tree. Because of social unrest and a power struggle amongst the treepeople, the main road (or Stairway) is closed, and people are very suspicious of strangers.
The story tells about my protagonist's struggle to get to her nephew in time, and most of the puzzles will be about getting higher up the Tree without use of the stairs. All against the backdrop of impending civil war.

Whew. I hope I haven't bitten off more than I can chew . I'll just keep doing what I'm doing now: Meticulous notekeeping with pen and paper, and slowly implementing location after location, object after object,etc...