ADRIFT Forum

The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Translating Adrift into Danish

Here you can share your "work in progress" with your fellow Drifters.

Translating Adrift into Danish

Postby P/o Prune » Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:06 pm

Since this is a Work In Progress thread I would think that this little project of Denk and mine qualifies to be mentioned here.
Besides, since Campbell isn't here (at the moment) to veto it, and I am an forum admin, I allow it. 8)

As you know, if you have read the post, I was contacted by a member of the Danish Royal Library regarding Danes writing IF.
That made me think (still have a headache) about how to spread Adrift AND IF to a wider audience. As it is now, if you wish to play IF you'll have to have some experience in writing / speaking / reading English.
But what if Adrift was translated into (in this case) Danish? So I set out on this lonely journey trying to figure out how to proceed. Luckily Denk was interested too and soon we were on our way.
Trust me when I tell you, this is no easy task!
First of all, the Danish alphabet has 3 extra letters that are unique Æ, Ø and Å! (We should have taught you Brits better when we ruled your country :wink: )
Secondly our grammar is very different from English which means that Denk had to change and create new properties and other fancy stuff I really don't understand much of. :?

Ok.
We are currently translating the Standard Library and are done doing the Uncategorised Tasks. :D
More to follow.
D-Day in progress 86Kb (Slowly drifting)
Just a Fairy Tale: 97kb
P/o Prune
Site Admin

Re: Translating Adrift into Danish

Postby Lazzah » Sat Feb 29, 2020 8:19 am

Very well done Po and Denk!
The Axe of Kolt, The Spectre of Castle Coris, The Fortress of Fear, Die Feuerfaust, The Lost Children, Run, Bronwynn, Run, The Call of the Shaman, The Lost Labyrinth of Lazaitch, Magnetic Moon, Starship Quest, Revenge of the Space Pirates
Lazzah