ADRIFT Forum

The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Does anyone else care what the map looks like?

This forum is the place to discuss the older ADRIFT versions 3.9 and 4.0.

Please refer to the ADRIFT 4 Manual for more information.

Postby Dannymac247 » Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:19 am

As my label says, I am still very new to ADRIFT. I only have a couple of "finished" products worth talking about, and a number of unfinished ideas that might, at some time, morph into projects.

But am I alone in wanting the map to make sense to the player?

I have redesigned game maps to make the map easily readable, and when a map is defined by an in-game building, I want the map to architecturally make sense.

Does anyone else do that?
Dannymac247

Postby Cowboy » Fri Jul 18, 2008 7:07 am

I don't...
In the "old" days I used to draw my own map as I went along playing the game, and now that Adrift has a built-in map option I guess that people will use it if they feel for it.
To me the Adrift map if pretty much what I need... A room name, and the exits.
Ghost town V 1,05: Adrift best game of the year award 2009
WIP:
"Through Time" Idle
"D-Day" Prog rep: Feb 16
Char: 5 Events: 5 Tasks: 185 Objects: 156 Rooms: 34... Size 47Kb
Cowboy

Postby Ren » Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:38 am

Yes. Though this often results in me turning the auto-mapping function off, on the grounds it won't do what I want it to.
Ren

Postby Beanless » Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:10 pm

Just wondering...what exactly is wrong with the current mapping system?
Fiction is a state of mind. So is reality. So are you.
Beanless

Postby Ren » Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:30 pm

Beanless wrote:Just wondering...what exactly is wrong with the current mapping system?

It is fine as long as you work to a grid, but if you want to do anything else. . .