ADRIFT Forum

The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Player control vs. Character control

This forum is the place to discuss the older ADRIFT versions 3.9 and 4.0.

Please refer to the ADRIFT 4 Manual for more information.

Postby Chilli » Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:50 pm

Hi all:

I'm really new to ADRIFT, so, if this is a common question, please forgive me and just point me to the discussion link.

Here's what I'm wondering. I've got a story idea that involves six characters. I want to be able to switch between characters and have the character the Player "becomes" disappear temporarily but have all items carried by the character become carried by the Player and all items worn by the character become worn by the Player. At the same time, whatever character was previously hidden needs to reappear (silently) and be given whatever items the Player was carrying and wear whatever items the Player was wearing.

Confusing? Maybe. Let's try an example using names.

Three characters are Tom, Dick, and Harry. At the start of the game, Tom is under the Player's control, so the Tom "character" is in a different location (I think of it as Limbo). All other characters are in the same location; let's call it "Home."

The Player is wearing a fedora. He is carrying a pistol.
Dick is wearing a fez. He is carrying a black bird.
Harry is wearing a derby. He is carrying a suitcase.
Tom (in Limbo) wears nothing and carries nothing.

(Here's where the fun begins. <g>)

The Player enters "become dick". At this point, I want to move what the Player is wearing (the fedora) to Tom and have it be worn. I want to move the Player's pistol to Tom. Then, Tom needs to be moved to "Home" from "Limbo". Dick's fez needs to be moved to the Player and worn. Dick's black bird needs to be moved to the Player and carried. Then, Dick needs to be moved to "Limbo".