ADRIFT Forum


The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Sound- how to stop sound file and play another?

This forum is the place to discuss the older ADRIFT versions 3.9 and 4.0.

Please refer to the ADRIFT 4 Manual for more information.

Postby MikeDesert » Fri Apr 22, 2011 8:11 pm

so, I've written some music for my contest game and it needs to change sound files when you go from one are to another.

right now the sound files overlap and I don't see a way to stop the previous sound file when the new one starts...

thanks! I have until tonight to get this done for the contest!
Last place winner of Adrift 2011 Ectocomp
User avatar
MikeDesert
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Oakland
Points: 10

Postby MikeDesert » Fri Apr 22, 2011 8:14 pm

...and since I have your attention. I'm not enabling the map in the game and I'd like for it to display the graphics centered (but not embedded) above the text...right now it's shoved off to the right. Is this possible?

thnaks!
Last place winner of Adrift 2011 Ectocomp
User avatar
MikeDesert
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Oakland
Points: 10

Postby DCBSupafly » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:25 pm

Since stop all sounds and start new sound are radio buttons, you can't select both. I guess you will have to stop all sounds in a different place from where you start them.

User is the only one who has control of which side the graphics display on. You can suggest it in your intro or help file, but it's always up to the user I believe.
User avatar
DCBSupafly
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:19 pm
Location: Indiana

Postby MikeDesert » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:27 pm

hmmm...this is gonna be tricky then, or else I'll just have to have a room with no sound in between 2 other sound rooms.

Also, my music loops fine in fruity loops, but in adrift there's like a skip when it loops, does that happen to anyone else?
Last place winner of Adrift 2011 Ectocomp
User avatar
MikeDesert
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Oakland
Points: 10

Postby DCBSupafly » Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:46 pm

heh, yeah it does. I usually just had the music fade and start over. If it's a short loop I can see how that would be a problem.

Just now playing an old game of mine I hear the track skip as it starts up even though the fade is use like I said. So... I don't know what to tell you!
User avatar
DCBSupafly
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:19 pm
Location: Indiana

Postby MikeDesert » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:03 pm

ok, I'll make the mp3 loop longer before ADRIFT loops it- thanks!
Last place winner of Adrift 2011 Ectocomp
User avatar
MikeDesert
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Oakland
Points: 10

Postby DCBSupafly » Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:34 pm

Yay for bigger file sizes!
User avatar
DCBSupafly
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:19 pm
Location: Indiana


Return to ADRIFT 3.9 and 4.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests