ADRIFT Forum


The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Typos

This forum is the place to discuss the older ADRIFT versions 3.9 and 4.0.

Please refer to the ADRIFT 4 Manual for more information.

Typos

Postby P/o Prune » Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:00 am

Ohh my! How can a foreigner ever win? :(
I just spell checked one of my location description which included the word “travelling” When I spell checked the description it came out flawless, but when I later received a beta report I noticed that the text editor had put a red line under the word. I ran a check and the program came up with the spelling “traveling” now with only one l.
When I checked I noticed that the text editor was set to English (USA) So obviously, travelling is spelled differently in England and USA.
Reviewers who don't know the difference would put that down as a typo which isn't exactly fair.
The English language is not as easy as it seems.
D-Day in progress 86Kb (Slowly drifting)
Just a Fairy Tale: 64Kb
User avatar
P/o Prune
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4420
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 8:18 am
Location: Denmark
Points: 58

Re: Typos

Postby AndrewF » Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:47 am

That's because we English use English, but those Americans use American rofl
Never appeal to a mans "better nature". He may not have one. Invoking his self-interest gives you more leverage.
- L. Long.


Current Work In Progres: "Voyage of the Starfarer." R=530, T=435, O=173, C=11, E=37
User avatar
AndrewF
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:24 pm
Location: UK

Re: Typos

Postby Campbell » Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:48 am

I don't see that there's a problem, so long as you stick with one language and keep it consistent throughout.
ADRIFT Developer developer.
User avatar
Campbell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4653
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 11:05 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Typos

Postby adriftste » Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:31 am

The dictionary supplied with V5 is American English, is it possible to add English English?
adriftste
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 12:43 pm
Location: England

Re: Typos

Postby Campbell » Mon Jun 06, 2011 10:13 am

It should be possible, but I think you have to specficy the dictionary as opposed to using the default US-English one. I'll look into.
ADRIFT Developer developer.
User avatar
Campbell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4653
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 11:05 am
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland


Return to ADRIFT 3.9 and 4.0

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron