ADRIFT Forum

The place to discuss the ADRIFT Interactive Fiction toolkit

Are you an Author or a Gamer? - How do you get your writing skills?

The place to chat about ideas, writing, this forum, or anything related to Interactive Fiction that isn't specific to ADRIFT.

Please also visit the Interactive Fiction Community Forum for further discussions.

Postby johnphoenix » Thu Mar 17, 2011 8:14 pm

As a non writer I reflect on the famous words, " The play's the thing".

I'm a reader/game player/wannabe writer/game creator.

You can have a simple dungeon crawl or you can have a griping adventure that makes you identify with the character's plight, leading them on a roller coaster ride to the riveting end.

The later is what I want to do - but How?

I have studied Screenplay format and was shocked to learn that no great movie was ever written - it was crafted on purpose using a set of rules that were proven to make the film appeal to the audience. This same format is still used today in almost every movie you see.

I have read a lot about writing IF on the web. Mostly this is do's and don't from popular authors but they do little to really teach you how to write good stories and apply them to the IF style.

I am looking into various methods of fiction writing to try to find what works for me.

I want to know dear reader, what works for you? How did you get your writing skill?
johnphoenix

Postby Duncan_B » Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:01 pm

As for being an author or gamer, I don't see the two as mutually exclusive. My writing "skill," if we can call it that, comes from two places: academic study (I have a Bachelor's degree in English and am working toward and MFA in Digital Arts & New Media) and application (I write stuff fairly constantly).

Here are five steps you might take to build your skillz: Play IF. See what works for you. Practice. Experiment. Repeat.
Duncan_B

Postby johnphoenix » Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:15 pm