Moving static object from hidden to inside an object?

This forum is the place to learn about and discuss ADRIFT 5. Feel free to mention any bugs you find here, but please also add these to the Bugs & Enhancements list.

Please also refer to the ADRIFT 5 Wiki for more information.
Post Reply
User avatar
P/o Prune
Site Admin
Posts: 4827
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:18 am
Points: 133
Location: Denmark

Moving static object from hidden to inside an object?

Post by P/o Prune »

Shouldn't it be possible to move a static object from location hidden to inside an object (assuming that the destination object is a container) :|
I'm trying to move some broken bones (don't ask 8) ) from location "hidden" to inside a cage. But that is not an option in the action tab. I can move it:
To everywhere in group
To location
To part of character
To part of object
To same location as

Yes, I realize that I could make it a dynamic object and then make a specific task overriding "take object" but it would be easier if it was possible to just move the static object inside the container.
D-Day in progress 86Kb (Slowly drifting)
October 31st: 93Kb (possible entry for IFComp 2021 :wink: )
User avatar
Denk
Posts: 748
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:21 pm
Points: 291
Location: Hjørring, Denmark

Re: Moving static object from hidden to inside an object?

Post by Denk »

P/o Prune wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 9:00 am Shouldn't it be possible to move a static object from location hidden to inside an object (assuming that the destination object is a container) :|
I'm trying to move some broken bones (don't ask 8) ) from location "hidden" to inside a cage. But that is not an option in the action tab. I can move it:
To everywhere in group
To location
To part of character
To part of object
To same location as

Yes, I realize that I could make it a dynamic object and then make a specific task overriding "take object" but it would be easier if it was possible to just move the static object inside the container.
The reason you cannot see the option is that static objects can never be inside containers. :)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
The Bash Saga:
1. The Dragon Diamond 2. The Way Home 3. Stone of Wisdom
----------------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
P/o Prune
Site Admin
Posts: 4827
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 9:18 am
Points: 133
Location: Denmark

Re: Moving static object from hidden to inside an object?

Post by P/o Prune »

Denk wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 9:35 am The reason you cannot see the option is that static objects can never be inside containers. :)
I get that :P
So I will go with the other option. Do you think this could be something that could be implemented in the next update of the combined library?
D-Day in progress 86Kb (Slowly drifting)
October 31st: 93Kb (possible entry for IFComp 2021 :wink: )
User avatar
Denk
Posts: 748
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 6:21 pm
Points: 291
Location: Hjørring, Denmark

Re: Moving static object from hidden to inside an object?

Post by Denk »

P/o Prune wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 9:40 amDo you think this could be something that could be implemented in the next update of the combined library?
I think that it would require changes to ADRIFT, not just the library. So I think only Campbell can do that.

Another workaround is to move the static object to hidden when you close the container and to "part of object" when you open the container.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
The Bash Saga:
1. The Dragon Diamond 2. The Way Home 3. Stone of Wisdom
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Post Reply