Search descriptions in 4.0

This forum is the place to discuss the older ADRIFT versions 3.9 and 4.0.

Please refer to the ADRIFT 4 Manual for more information.
Post Reply
User avatar
DCBSupafly
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:19 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Search descriptions in 4.0

Post by DCBSupafly »

Trying to figure out where this one line of text is coming from. I am using the search feature, the binoculars icon. It has radio buttons for search lists and description. Description seems always greyed out. Is it ever selectable?
User avatar
Hensman Int'l
Posts: 197
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 1:48 am
Points: 10
Location: Wisconsin USA

Re: Search descriptions in 4.0

Post by Hensman Int'l »

What I've done is to Export the whole program into a module, then use a text editor to search for specific text. That way you can find it in any title, description, etc.
Officially and Fully Released:
The Fly Human (v.4) - 2010
Brain Dead Weekend (v.4) - 2011
User avatar
DCBSupafly
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:19 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Search descriptions in 4.0

Post by DCBSupafly »

Oh duh. I've done that before too. Thanks!
User avatar
Campbell
Site Admin
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 12:05 pm
Points: 0
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Search descriptions in 4.0

Post by Campbell »

DCBSupafly wrote:Description seems always greyed out. Is it ever selectable?
Nope, I never got around to implementing it.
ADRIFT Developer developer.
Sxandy

Re: Search descriptions in 4.0

Post by Sxandy »

sounds fine but.... won't i have to produce a line in alr for each static object (drawer/cupboard/safe/table/chairs) and the various objects that are in/on them? As explained I tried using %object% but it didn't seem to work. This has only recently come to light when i deleted a lot of tasks dealing with opening things. To get what i want... would it be simpler to return to tasks?

By-the-by; i can't even begin to understand where to begin in adrift 5. I know questions have been asked re importing adrift 4 into 5, has this now been resolved? or would i have to rewrite all 167 rooms and 300 tasks again?
User avatar
Campbell
Site Admin
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 12:05 pm
Points: 0
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Search descriptions in 4.0

Post by Campbell »

ADRIFT 4 should import into ADRIFT 5 just fine. There may be a small amount of tweaking required, so if you find anything then let me know. I'm not developing v4 any longer.
ADRIFT Developer developer.
Post Reply